Museo Arqueológico de Granada. printer version

collections: suggested routes

Planta baja. Nueva ventana
Ground floor

Planta alta. Nueva ventana
Upper floor

During the 1974 reform, the museum exhibition was divided up into seven halls around a main patio: on the ground floor, Hall I with the Paleolithic period, Hall II with the Neolithic and Chalcolithic period, Hall III with the Bronze Age, and on the top floor, Hall IV with Colonisations and the Iberian World, Hall V with the Roman period, Hall VI with the Late Antiquity period and Hall VII with the Andalusí period. To present, this has been the general structure of the museum.

Further on, in the Lower Gallery, a good collection of Roman commemorative funerary gravestones is on display, and in 2003, in the Upper Gallery the column caps were put on display along a chronological route (from Rome to Islam).

For those visitors whose time is no limited, we propose a complete tour according to chronological criteria.

In addition, several thematic tours can be taken:

Ceramics: from the Neolithic and Chalcolithic periods in Hall II, the Bronze Age in Hall III, the Punic, Greek and Iberian periods in Hall IV, the Roman period in Hall V, the late-roman and Visigothic periods in Hall VI and the Arab period in Hall VII.

Gravestones: from the Roman period in the Lower and Upper Galleries, and the Visigothic and Mozarab periods in Hall VI.

Column caps: Roman, Visigothic and Arab in the Upper Gallery, complemented by other Visigothic and Arab pieces in Halls VI and VII.

Metal utensils and weapons: from the Chalcolithic period and Bronze Age in Halls II and III, the Iberian period in Hall IV, the Roman period in Hall V, the Visigothic in Hall VI, and the Arab in Hall VII.